Why are Mason Jars so freakin cute!!??

20140126-132230.jpg

Honestly, people, I just can’t get enough of Mason Jars.  I’m pretty sure if you look up versatility in the dictionary (do people do that anymore??!!…ok, well if you “Google it”…) you will find a picture of a Mason Jar.   I use these puppies for everything!  I buy them new and keep them on hand…and pick them up in thrift shops…even have started a collection of vintage Mason Jars- I just LOVE them ♥!

So, let’s talk about thrift shops…do you have ANY idea what amazingness is hiding in those things.  Here is me- I know I need something…like, let’s say, new silverware.  Now, that is a HUGE decision, right?  Because it’s such a huge decision, it takes me FOREVER to make it- too big of a commitment and quite honestly- the sets you can buy all put together in a store- expensive (for any type of quality) and BORING!  The other day, I’m browsing a thrift shop like I always do..and it hits me- I’m gettin my silverware here…a mis-matched set- it’s perfect, it’s super inexpensive, and it has the character I’ve come to NEED in my life.  It’s kind of a drug.  I picked out a bunch with a vintage look at $0.25 each (are you KIDDING me with that price??)…making sure they were all stainless steel so they would last.  I then decide they need to be displayed…that was a no-brainer…MASON JARS!!  I spray-painted a few wood tags (from Joanne’s) with chalkboard paint (another love)….wrote “spoons, forks, knives” on each tag, tied to the jars with jute twine (YET ANOTHER LOVE) and vooala….you really can’t get any cuter or functional than this.  I pulled out a wine crate box from my Rustic Eye “I’ve yet to figure out what I want to do with it” stock to prop them up on…and a silver tray to be the background art…and now I will never look at silverware the same again.  OK- to recap…definitely at the top of my fav craft supplies: Mason Jars, Chalkboard Paint, Jute Twine….gotta have them!!

20140126-132057.jpg

Leave a Reply

